Day 136

Well I’m sorry for not posting last night. I got home late because I was out with Gretchen.

We had CORE last night and I had to be there early to sing. Let’s keep in mind that I harbor a deep hate for microphones and hearing my own voice. But it was actually a lot of fun, and less scary than singing in choir. Afterward, Gretchen and I played the piano for a while. Then Forrest came in and joined us, just listening while we had tons of fun. We were the last kids to leave the church, and when we went out to the parking lot Gretchen and I decided to do donuts in the parking lot (rebellious thing #7 this week) we wanted Forrest to come with us, so we honked at him and jumped out of the car and ran after him, but he didn’t hear us… 😦 Oh well… After that we sat in my driveway for a long time and talked about Guys, Life, Stuff. Mostly guys. Gretchen and I have been talking a lot recently, and I’ve realized how much we connect. We have sooooooooooo much crazy fun!

Then there was today… I woke up and got in the shower. I didn’t sleep well last night and so when I was standing in the shower I nearly fell asleep just standing there, then I went and ate breakfast and I just felt sooo sick. So I went back to bed and woke up again at 10. Lovely. When I got up, everyone was gone, so I read To Kill a Mocking Bird then did some ACT prep stuff. I took the dog for a walk and just enjoyed the calmness of life. It was gorgeous. I vacuumed and made an apple crisp (so yumtastic!) and then everyone got home…

Instantly, the phone starts ringing, there are people at the door, children screaming, dogs barking, trumpet playing and so much more. Mom and dad got home and I sat down to play the piano and the interrupted me twice and I just started crying. I think I was losing my mind for a moment, but it all overcame me and I couldn’t take it. In the end I was Ok, and was just having a ridiculous mental break down. Then my mom took me up to the church to see the Co-Op play (for my silly home school friends. Love them <3) The play was amazing! It was just so funny because I knew all the people in it, and to see them as different characters was just so hillarious!)

Then Gretchen and I had an idea. We decided to go to where Forrest works and to saran wrap his car and then go in and visit him. So we are driving to Gretchen’s house and playing I Won‘t Say I’m In Love and singing loudly and just jammin out. We get there, grab the saran rap and run! When we get to where Forrest works we see no cars in the parking lot. The lights are out and everyone is gone. Fail. So we decide to drive to his house. We were going to saran wrap his car, but both of the cars were in the garage. Double fail. Then we tried to wrap his front porch, but he was standing in the kitchen and could have seen us. Tripple Fail. So in the end we threw Gretchen’s human sized dummy Cluso on to his front porch then driving by his house and calling him until he noticed us. I’m not sure what came over us, but it was the most fun I’ve had in a long time. We stopped in and said hi. Poor kid, he must think we’re the strangest people alive. On the way home we just talked and had a good time. Just fun to be together.

At home I talked with mom for 30 minutes about boys and life and friends and stuff (aka Guys, Life, Stuff) and that was really nice.

All in all these past two days have been absolutely crazy and full of fun. Mostly with crazy Gretchen.

I haven’t had much time to think, but what I have been thinking about is how I don’t need to settle. And I don’t need to waste my time on boys who really aren’t worth it. I can’t concern myself about every single thing going on in their lives. And I won’t. I’m beyond done with that. Sometimes I need to remind myself of that, but in the end there are things that really matter. Gretchen and I were talking about being intentional in our friendships today. When I became more intentional in seeking out a good friendship with her and visa versa our relationship became so much better. We can have all kids of fun, and talk about anything because we are being intentional. Also, when someone is trying to bother you (or me) what they are doing doesn’t bother me. The fact that they are trying to bother me is what bothers me.

Random Fact of the Day- Consectotaeophobia is the fear of chopsticks.

Mission of the Day- Be intentional in one relationship that truly matters. Because it’s so true.

Love you!

Abby

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Leave me a comment.

