Day 179

Today the main thing I learned was about being wrong. I love to argue. But more than arguing I love to be right. But one thing I have learned from my friends and my family is that the best arguers know how to admit their wrong-ness. It makes them respectable, and it makes them a worthy opponent.

The other thing I’ve learned today is about friendship. I’m one to speak far faster than I think. I’m full of opinions and I  speak them quickly. And many times in my life I have said things before thinking and have really hurt friends and ruined relationships. It’s something I’ve been working on for years, but it’s something I don’t do as well as I should. I’ve realized that up until this point in my life I never really had good friends. I had friends that were fun, but it was all skin deep. I would get in an argument with them and then we would just stop talking. But, moving here really changed that for me. It was the hardest thing I’ve ever done in my life, but the more I look back on it I see what a blessing it was.

God has provided me with the most amazing friends who have stuck with me through so much. I’m not a very easy person to deal with. I get melodramatic, I get depressed, I get defensive, I get aggressive, I pick fights, I step on toes. But for the first time in my life I have relationships worth fighting for. Relationships, whether with friends or boys or parents, don’t work out perfectly. Even people who seem so similar to you and seem like you were born to be friends, you will have disagreements. And some relationships fall apart after arguments or fall outs. The best relationships are the ones where people are willing to be honest about what’s going on in their lives. People who are willing to speak truth into one another’s lives. Friendship where honesty and forgiveness is abounding. I’ve learned to be more humble. I’m not always humble, but I’m learning to admit when I’m wrong. Learning to be more careful with what I say, learning to hold those who I love close to me. God has given me such amazing people in my life.

Honesty. I think it’s so important. But it’s often so hard to appreciate, because it often comes at times when you least want to hear it. I’m blessed to have people in my life who aren’t afraid to speak truth to me. That doesn’t mean I’m always going to listen to them, or that I’m going to like it. But in the end I can always look and say that I’m thankful for that truth, whether it was welcome at the time or not.

Thinking about “things” or the stuff that makes us up. Our experiences, our struggles, our heartaches, our background. We each have a story. As He is We put so wonderfully- “We all have a story to tell, whether we whisper or yell. We all have a story of adolescence and all its glory. We all have a story to tell” It’s true. Sometimes you just have to listen hard enough.

Random Fact of the Day- Seatophobia- the irrational fear of chairs.

Mission of the Day- Tell a good friend how much they really mean to you and how thankful you are for them.

Love you dearly 🙂

ABby

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Leave me a comment.

