Day 232

Well, I apologize for not writing yesterday. I was at the amazing musical at my high school. They did “How to Succeed in Business without Really Trying” and it was wonderful. I was very proud of all my friends who were in it.

Earlier in the day yesterday I went for a long walk with my friend Emma. We were just talking about having Joy and Peace and being content. I’m not sure if I’ve ever said this to you before, but I don’t want to be a happy person. There is a distinct difference between happiness and Joyfulness.  Happiness is dependent on your situation. It changes when your life changes, when someone says something mean to you, when you get a bad grade on a test, when you stub your toe. Joy shines through everything you do. It’s evident in the way you look at life, in the way you treat people. So, I don’t want to be happy, I want to be truly Joyful, and more and more in life I have been feeling that joy.

I’ve been thinking about contentment. Just being content with your place in life. And I think that I am.

On Thursday we had a discussion about dating in high school. The message that was given at youth group made it sound like all high school dating relationships are evil (though I’m sure that that was not the intention, it was simply the way I saw it) so we embarked on a discussion about it. I’m not certain how I feel about the issue. I think that there are a lot of good things that can come from dating, and a lot of negative things. David (our marvelous youth pastor) made a great point, he said “Why would you give your heart to someone who doesn’t know what to do with it?” Hmmmm… I don’t know, why would you? But I’ve just decided that you can’t really make a straight judgement about it. Something I’ve got to do a little more thinking about.

Random Fact of the Day- Lupislipophobia- The fear of being chased by timber wolves around a kitchen table on a newly waxed floor while wearing socks.

Mission of the Day- Make up a crazy fear and name it.

Love you!

Abby

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Leave me a comment.

