Day 233

Well, I apologize for not writing last night. I was feeling really sick and was exhausted. I’ve been feeling really nasty recently. Coughing really hard, headaches, and a general feeling of not goodness. More on my insides than physically. Mreh, I’m just so tired of not feeling good. Bleh.

I’ve been thinking a lot. But (as stupid as this sounds) I can’t remember most of what I’ve been thinking about. I guess that I’ve been all over the place recently and I’m not sure why.

Hmmm… I’ve been thinking about future. Thinking about living for a greater purpose than just living until tomorrow. We live in a society driven by the future and making the most of our future. Yea, I want to do well in high school and get into a good college, but I want to have fun. I want to make stories and memories and have a marvelous time while I’m here. In looking into the future we often misplace the importance of the present.

I’m currently reading a book called Paper Towns and I’m really enjoying it. It’s by John Green, the same guy who wrote Looking For Alaska, and one half of the amazing team that is the Vlogbrothers. It’s hilarious and thought-provoking and really touching. And I love it. It has given me a lot to think about.

“‘I think I will do nothing for a long time but listen,’ Whitman writes. And then for two pages, he’s just hearing: hearing a steam whistle, hearing people’s voices, hearing an opera. He sits on the grass and lets the sound pour through him. And this is what I was trying to do, too, I guess: to listen to all the little sounds of her, because before any of it could make sense, it had to be heard.”

I mean, if you haven’t read it, it doesn’t make as much sense to you. But the quote is beautiful. Before anything can make sense you need to listen. To hear what is going on before trying to make sense of things. So often we just jump into things before we learn all of what is going on. And I’m so good at that. Doing before I listen. So, that’s my focus for the next week-ish thing. Just listening.

Random Fact of the Day- Bananas are an herb with edible flowers and fruit.

Mission of the Day- Take some time to listen.

Love you!

Abby

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Leave me a comment.

