Day 284

I have a couple things on my mind.

The first thing is mistakes. I have made some pretty stupid mistakes in my life. I have screwed up friendships and relationships and plenty of other things by single choices made in the spur of the moment. And I regret those choices, but the sign of true growth is learning from those mistakes and becoming a wiser person because of it. Choosing not to make the same mistakes because you’ve learned the consequences of your choices. I don’t think I’m the most mature person on th face of the earth, not even close, but I do know that I’ve learned a thing or two since I’ve been born.

Second, continuing to bring up other peoples mistakes is no way to be a good friend. I’ve been blessed with very few people like that in my life, but I catch myself doing it every once in a while, and it’s something I need to work on.

Third, “You don’t know you’re beautiful.” my dad’s response to this was “Most beautiful girls know that they’re beautiful.” and I realized… Most hot girls know they’re hot, but the most beautiful people on the face of the earth are either unaware of it, or they are humble and it makes no difference to them. Some of the truest beauty lies in grace, and within grace there is humility.

Fourth, grace. I want to be graceful, in as many senses of the word as possible. I want to walk gracefully, speak gracefully, and swing dance gracefully (or at all really) but I also want to be graceful from a personality standpoint. Smile gracefully, take challenges gracefully, take a compliment gracefully (something I truly cannot do) and speak gracefully (I know it’s on here twice, that was intentional) I want to be characterized by grace and joy.

Fifth, joy. There is a huge difference between happiness and joy. Happiness depend on the state of life, joy depends on the perspective on life. Joy doesn’t change with the weather or a movie, joy isn’t injured by a hurtful comment, joy doesn’t depend on a person or relationship. Joy depends on you. On your purpose and how you see your life. Joy comes from something deeper than a song that makes you smile or driving with the windows down. Joy comes from knowing that you are loved, needed, purposeful and unique. I want to have joy, and I want to show that joy.

Sixth, forgiveness. I can’t write about this now, but it’s on my mind.

Random fact of the day- apparently Christian Bale is British. (this is  what we do in journalism class)

Mission of the day- wink at someone gracefully.

Love you!

Abby

2 thoughts on “Day 284

  1. Thanks for your post Abby! Lots going on, eh?!? You ARE beautiful 🙂 When I said that most people who are beautiful know it, it was more along the lines of ‘pretty’, or to use your word ‘hot’. But, real, lasting, gracious, elegant, noble, beauty? That’s real beauty that doesn’t draw attention to itself. I think you do a great job of defining what real beauty is with the rest of your post and the Apostle Peter agrees with you 🙂

    “Your beauty should not come from outward adornment, such as braided hair and the wearing of gold jewelry and fine clothes. 4Instead, it should be that of your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight.” 1 Pet 3:3-4

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Leave me a comment.

