Day 287

So, I’ve been thinking about many things today, almost all of them having to do with being a girl.

At one point Daisy says of her daughter: “That’s the best thing a girl can be in this world, a beautiful little fool.” As I read this I felt so sorry for this poor little girl. To know that (even as a fictional character) the only thing she is expected to be is a stupid girl with pretty face. And then I realized something else… That is a lot of what is expected from girls these days. I have a good guy friend who, when ever we are in an argument, responds with “Know your place woman!” and “Get back in the kitchen!” and mostly I just laugh and respond with “I’ll do what I want!” and then I start to think. There is a reason for all the stereotypes. I don’t want to be one of those giddy girls who thinks of nothing but boys, twirls my hair, says “like” every other word, and only passes physics because I flirt with my teacher. I want to be able to have an intelligent conversation with people. I want to have valid opinions. I want to be worth listening to. I want to be bigger than what is expected of me. I want to defy expectations.

“The officer looked at Daisy while she was speaking, in a way that every young girl wants to be looked at sometime.” This was something that made me smile as I read it, because I knew just what she meant. I knew the look she was talking about, and I knew the longing to be looked at that way. I don’t like to make over arching statements, but I would have to say that every girl wants to be looked at like that. In a way that says she is worth someone’s time, and is loved and valued and important.

Random fact of the day- giraffes cannot cough.

Mission of the day- read a children’s book, your favorite children’s book. Which book is that?

Love you!

Abby

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Leave me a comment.

