What speaks about you? 341 to go…

Ever think about what speaks to others about us? I was talking to the boy I sit next to in German class about music and he asked what I listen to and I said “weird hipster stuff. Ben Rector, Nick Full, Alex Day, Allie Moss, Butterfly Boucher. Stuff about love and pain and romance and break ups and holding hands and sigh…” And I was kind of joking, but it says so much about me as a person. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, John Green’s saying “Maybe our favorite quotations say more about us than the people and stories we are quoting.” applies to music as well.

But think about all the other things that speak about who I am. The way I dress, the shows I watch, the books I read, the songs I sing, the way I talk, the way I interact with others, my favorite characters, ny favorite color, this silly blog I write, the classes I take. All of it says something about me.

I’ve been thinking about my favorite characters. Ariel is my Disney princess. I’ve always wanted to be her. She sings (life goal,) she’s a Ginger (bigger life goal,) and she’s a mermaid (ultimate life goal.) She’s rebellious and real and awkward and curious and needy. I mean, she combs her hair with a fork for heaven’s sake! What’s not to love. She’s whimsical and prone to falling in love. And I love that.

My favorite non-princess Disney character is Meg from Hercules. She’s cynical, sarcastic, charming, tough, independent, gorgeous, heartbroken and romantic. And she makes all of that look good. She’s an ideal character. The kind of person who can’t live outside of fiction.

And my all time favorite character is Alaska. She’s crazy, spontaneous, brilliant, beautiful, carefree, dangerous, and deep. She’s so real, and yet so not. Her perfection as a character lies in her imperfections. She’s all of these incredible things that I wish I was.

So that’s what’s on my mind. My favorite characters don’t reflect who I am, but who I want to be. Sadly, I’m not those things. I’m awkward and nerdy and romantically challenged but still a hopeless romantic. I’m cynical but not charmingly so. I’d like to pretend I’m independent, though It’s not true. I’m just a weird mush mash of Abby stuff.

Question of the Day- what speaks the most about who you are?

Random Fact of the Day- when ever I accidentally type “os” instead of “is” into my phone, she corrects it to “OS” Yes, my phone is a she. Her name is Margo.

Mission of the Day- write me a letter.

Love you!

Abby

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Leave me a comment.

