You make love easy. 106 to go…

I’ve had a hard time blogging recently because I don’t know what to write about. I came home from Haiti feeling like all of my worries were stupid and that I should care less about them. So not writing about them has been my way of saying that they’re not as important. It doesn’t mean that I’m not still thinking about them, because I am. I have this boy on my mind who I have a mind-blowing crush on, a boy that I’m friends with who’s complicating my life, and that boy from work who I’m forever awkward around. My mom has been really sick. She is tired a lot and is in a lot of pain and that’s really hard for me to watch. I’ve been thinking about college and about moving away. I’ve been missing Haiti. There are just a hundred and one things on my mind.

But today, I have something worth writing about.

Esther day was just a couple of days ago. It’s a Nerdfighter holiday that is the equivalent of a friends and family Valentine’s day. It’s a day to tell the people that you love (non-romantically) that you love them. I didn’t take advantage of that day.

One of my favorite songs is Love is Easy by McFly. I just love the lyrics

If this is love, then love is easy
It’s the easiest thing to do.
If this is love, then love completes me
Cause it feels like I’ve been missing you.
A simple equation with no complications to leave you confused.
If this is love, love, love…
It’s the easiest thing to do.

So this is to my friends who make love so easy.

Tonight, I Skyped my dear friend Anna, who is far away and we just laughed and caught up. I sat on my best friend, Meesh’s, bed and watched the very sad scene from Dumbo with Meesh and my lovely friend Alanna and cried. Then we went to this sketchy little diner and had breakfast at midnight and ate rice pudding and laughed like idiots at the silliest things.

Two nights ago, I laid on Penelope’s pull out couch between her and Gretchen and watched half of Wreck-it  Ralph before falling asleep and snuggling.

Last night, I went to dinner with my parents and my little sister and we laughed about all the silly things we’ve done over the years and I talked about Haiti.

Loving people puts you at risk, it sets you up for pain and disappointment. But, in my experience, love is worth it. And it’s worth it because of the people I love. The people who make love so easy.

I love you all!!

Abby

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Leave me a comment.

