Selfies! 74 to go…

I know what you’re thinking, two posts in one week? What’s the world coming to???

So here’s a thing I’ve been thinking about.

I’ll admit that I was a part of that group of people who judged those who took selfies. In a lot of ways, it feels self-serving and narcissistic. It feels like people are flaunting that they are “better” than the person looking at the photo. But I’ve been giving this a lot of thought.

More and more I feel like there is a lot of benefit to selfies. They allow you to capture moments and feelings. They let you remember how you felt and who you were with and what you looked like. They show you where you were in your life and how far you’ve come.

I also love what she has to say about how selfies create body positivity. They throw so many different types of bodies and people into the spotlight of social media so we can see them and appreciate them. They allow us to see the beauty in other people in ways that we may not be able to previously.

My favorite thing that Laci says in this video is:

“Bodies are artfully decorated bags that facilitate your talents and that hold your brain.”

I love this so much because it says that your body serves a purpose and is important but it doesn’t define you. It allows you to do all of the things you love and go places and see things and give hugs and listen to music run marathons and knit scarves and pet cats and swim in oceans and sing songs and have snow ball fights and bake cookies and look at art and pick raspberries and dance and sip tea and read books and climb trees and any number of other wonderful things.

So I’m going to share some of my favorite selfies with you. Ones that have meaning to me and make me smile and take me back to a time in my life that is dear to me.

Selfie18

This is me and my beautiful friend Erin after we spent an amazing week on a missions trip together that changed my life.

Selfie17

Me and Penelope just being ourselves.

Selfie16

Got my face painted by some little kids and then took this super flattering picture with my favorite person on the planet, my brother Jonathan.

Selfie15

Me and Meesh while gutting a house in New Orleans while we were there for Challenge in 2012. This was one of the most influential times in my life where I learned some incredible things about myself and my faith.

Selfie12

Senior year homecoming! Rachel, Me, Meesh and Nicole

Selfie13

Meesh and I have this tradition of bread and cheese whenever we’re driving. It’s a thing we do that I love. Also, we took this picture at a stop light right before it turned green. It never fails to make me smile.

Selfie14

Lunch at the restaurant I work at with AZ and Meesh for Meesh’s 18th birthday. It’s a pretty classy hotel so we took a super classy picture in the bathroom. It’s my favorite.

Selfie11

Me and Meesh during The Golden Key. Most of our time back stage was spent taking fantastic selfies like this one.

Selfie19

This is my whole family. It used to be a Christmas tradition that we would try to get a family picture with all of us in it at once. We were super proud that we were able to take one last Christmas.

Selfie21

This is probably the best picture I took during Graduation. I absolutely love this picture of me and my best friend Rachel because it just sums up the past four years of our friendship.

Selfie10

Me and my gorgeous little sister Kayra at my dinner to celebrate Graduation.

Selfie22

I took this picture during VBS while I was in Haiti this summer and it was one of the most influential times in my life. This is one of those moments that I just constantly wish I could go back to.

Selfie8

Got my first pair of lab goggles and a lab coat that I’m going to be using for the next couple of years. This is getting me on my path to becoming a crazy hippie scientist.

Selfie7

Took this the first time I came home from college. Me and my beautiful boyfriend.

Selfie4

I took this a couple of weeks ago while hanging out with  Grace and Kelly one night. It makes me smile because I think we all look so fabulous.

Selfie6

This was just over Thanksgiving break while I was catching up some of my dear dear friends. I can’t help but laugh when I look at this.

Selfie3

This was also over Thanksgiving break at my favorite diner with my beautiful friends Zach and Meesh. I had such a lovely time that evening. It was probably the best night I had while I was home.

Selfie

And lastly, I just took this picture last weekend while I was at a play museum with my gorgeous friend Grace (and our new best friend the unicorn.)

So here’s my challenge:

Take more selfies with your friends and your family and your pets. Take selfies in places and at events and of things. Take pictures of moments. And don’t feel guilty for it!

Love you!

Abby

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Leave me a comment.

