So I’ve become a vegetarian. 72 to go…

So I did a little fact drop in my last post. I’ve become a vegetarian.

It’s been about two months since I decided to become a vegetarian and I wanted to wait until I was certain about this decision before I started telling people about it, much less writing about it. I didn’t want to write this impassioned blog post about how I’ve sworn off of meat only to write the next week that I didn’t have the self-control or desire to follow through.

So yea…

I don’t really know how to write about this. This is kind of a big choice and I’m really happy about it, but it is very personal.

Basically, it’s an environmental thing for me. In case you haven’t noticed yet, I’m kind of a treehugger and the environment is very important to me. So when I had to take a water usage assessment for my environmental sustainability class and found out that 1 kg of beef takes 15,415 liters of water [here] (enough to sustain the average American for more than one month, [EPA]) to produce I was shocked. As I started to reading more about the environmental impacts of the beef industry I was just… I don’t know, there isn’t a word that captures how surprised, saddened, and frustrated I was. Agriculture is responsible for 14 percent of the earth’s greenhouse gas emissions [here] and a lot of that is produced by cows who belch methane [here]

As I started to think about the serious impacts of these things I realized that I couldn’t continue to be morally responsible for this.

Before you say anything: yes, I understand that making this choice by myself is not going to fix the problem. But this isn’t about fixing the problem, this is about not being a part of the problem. I understand that it would take world wide efforts to fix the problem so this is my way of reducing my negative impact. I’ve been doing a lot of other things to decrease my negative impact but I’ll save those for another post.

NOTE- While I wish everyone was committed to doing things that aren’t fun for the benefit of the environment but I understand that it isn’t easy and that it’s a difficult personal decision. Don’t take this as me saying that this is the only option or that I look down on people for not making the same choices that I am, because that’s just not true.

So here I am, more than two months into this craziness and I feel GREAT. I really do. I feel energetic, healthy, motivated, and content with my life and the choices I’m making.

Mission of the Day- Take this water footprint survey and tell me about your results (if you’re comfortable with that.) It’s really interesting and eye opening.

My results: ( me / average American)
Water used in home and yard : 38 / 100
Water used for diet : 437 / 1,056
Water used for transportation and energy : 544 / 700
Water used for stuff : 76 / 232
Overall : 1,095 / 2,088

Question of the Day- What are your thoughts on vegetarianism? Do you think you could do it?

If you have any questions you can feel free to leave me a comment or shoot me an e-mail at : abby@guyslifestuff.com

PS- Exciting thing for me, if you haven’t noticed already I finally have my own domain name! I finally purchased guyslifestuff.com This might not mean anything to you, but I’m super excited about it!

Love you!

Abby

Also, check out this great post by my lovely friend Grace.

5 thoughts on “So I’ve become a vegetarian. 72 to go…

  1. Hi Abby and readers 🙂
    I think its great that there are more and more vegetarians in the world. Not only is it great for the environment, but its also great for your health. Vegetarians have far less cholestrol and fat-related problems, and are not in risk of things like mercury in their fish like meat-eaters are. And its an absolte myth that vegetarians don’t get enough protein. Plant or dairy based protein, if taken with a little bit more attention, give you more than a sufficient amount of protein.

  2. Wow, up until now, I always used to think I was helping the environment by controlling the cattle population as a non vegetarian (yes I realise how silly it sounds now :P) but you just opened up a possibility for me to consider turning into a vegetarian. Anyway, it’s great that you care about the environment so much. I used to do a lot of stuff for the environment when I was in school, but the hectic college life now doesn’t allow me to do much. Your post just inspired me to be more considerate about the environment 😀
    Maybe you’ll like to check out my blog? I started out only 4 months ago, and I’m not as regular as I’d like to be, but it would be lovely if you give it a shot anyway 😀
    http://swagnificentintellect.wordpress.com

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Leave me a comment.

