New Semester Resolutions. 71 to go…

So I already wrote a little bit about New Year’s Resolutions over here, but today I want to write about my New Semester Resolutions.

The thing about College is that it offers you a unique opportunity to change your schedule, habits, and routines twice a year and those opportunities come in the form of new semesters. High school gives you that chance once a year at the beginning of a new school year and I have no idea what on earth adulthood is like. Research has found that it takes anywhere between 21 days and 2 months to form a habit (read about that here) and a new semester is 4 months of doing something new and making new routines. It’s the perfect time to start something new, like going to the gym. So here are some of my New Semester Resolutions:

Go to the gym:
I don’t know if you know about this, but I have a slipped disk in my back (I wrote a little bit about this is my post about Haiti.) My L5 vertebra is slipped out of place, my cartilage is smooshed and not as thick as it needs to be, and my coccyx is not fully formed correctly. All this to say that it looks like this:

slipped disc

Instead of this:

disc

It causes me a lot of pain and there is really nothing that can be done to fix the problem. The only thing I can do is work on my core strength to help support my back and decrease the pain. I make jokes about being a cripple and my friends do as well, which doesn’t bother me, but some times I honestly feel like a cripple who just can’t do anything. Since it hurts so badly to move and sit, I’ve put off going to the gym and doing the things that will help my pain go away. I told myself that I didn’t have enough time or that I was in too much pain. BUT THAT ENDS NOW! I’m taking a tai chi class this semester with my best friends Grace and Kelly and I went to the gym with my roommate, Amber, and my other best friend Lexie yesterday. I felt so much better after going that I’m almost excited to go back.

Go to Cru:
This one is pretty self explanatory.

Stop eating fish:
This is a part of my crazy scheme of becoming a total vegetarian. Until this point, I’d made an exception for sushi. Until I’ve done some more research on the topic I want to just eliminate it from my life.

KEEP MY ROOM CLEAN:
You could talk to my roommate or my parents about this one. I have a serious problem….

1557543_10152149066985923_204487558_n

Get a job:
This one is also pretty self explanatory.

Floss everyday:
I’ve been working on this one since Christmas-ish and, thus far, I’m doing really well.

Blog more regularly:
I’m not elaborating on that because then there will be expectations and I’m not setting myself up for failure any more than I already have (but hey, this is my blog and I can write when every I want!)

Class Related Resolutions:
Be early/on time for all of my classes.
Have assignments done two days before they’re due.
Wake up an hour before class.

Be generally healthier:
Listen to happier music. Sleep more. Go outside more. Eat less Ramen. Smile more. Call my mom more.

So those are my New Semester Resolutions. I’m sure I’ll come up with more as life and time goes on, but these are my current goals and hopes for this new semester.

Question of the Day- What are your New Semester Resolutions?

LOVE YOU!!

Abby

2 thoughts on “New Semester Resolutions. 71 to go…

  1. Pingback: Pain. 59 to go… | Guys, Life, Stuff

  2. Pingback: New Semester Resolutions II. 31 to go… | Guys, Life, Stuff

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Leave me a comment.

