The People’s Climate March. 38 to go…

If you know me at all, you know that I’m a crazy, dirty, hippie-dippie tree hugger. Well, a couple weekends ago I had the amazing experience of going to the People’s Climate March held in New York City. There were over 400,000 people there marching to see action taken about how we deal with climate change. It was easily one of the most beautiful, encouraging, and life changing things I’ve ever done.

I went on this trip with three of my dear friends, Sarah, Evan, and Grace. It started with a crazy six hour car ride filled with FIDLAR, Pat The Bunny, and Lana Del Rey. We arrived at the church we were staying at and met our amazing hosts Dan and Stephanie, dropped our stuff and went for a stroll around Central Park and then caught the metro to Chinatown to get the most amazing sesame pancakes I’ve ever had at a place called Prosperity Dumpling. We then came back to the church and passed out on the floor.

We woke up bright and early the next morning to get our stuff together and hop on the metro to get to our spot in the march. I was super excited to be going to the march, but I didn’t realize what an impact it was going to have on me. I saw someone carrying a sign that said “I’m marching for a better world” and that was the first time I cried that day.

10488005_840455185973914_4075154972056020718_nI had the amazing opportunity to march with the Lady Liberty puppet from Occupy Wall Street and built by The People’s Puppets.

So much of the day was filled with tears. At one point people began singing “we’ve got the whole world in our hands,” and later people began chanting “I BELIEVE THAT EARTH WILL WIN” and after that “WE ARE UNSTOPPABLE, A BETTER WORLD IS POSSIBLE” and I just cried through so much of it. I honestly didn’t know how else to express all the things I was feeling.

998297_10153176253574972_6534362174719029879_n
This little girl holding this sign made me sob like an idiot

10689790_10153176254324972_8742835347751337068_nI took about a million pictures throughout the course of the day, but this is one of my favorites. The signs we saw were all so inspiring.

983791_10153176255934972_8366484312605462422_n
Peacin’ with Lady Liberty herself

I was so overwhelmed by all of the people who were so determined to see our world changed. People who believe that protecting our planet is worth it. There is change coming and we are the people to make it happen. There were so many beautiful people there who cared about so many beautiful things.

I wish I knew better how to write about how beautiful it was. How to express how inspired I am to change our planet for the better and to continue speaking out about the importance of protecting the planet that sustains us.

I love you!

Abby

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Leave me a comment.

